The Appalachian Volleyball Academy was originally the Charleston VBC.  It was formed in the late 1970’s by a group of male volleyball enthusiasts with varying playing background. A couple members played for Penn State University, while others were local athletes who learned to play in city recreational leagues. They registered with the USA Volleyball (known then as United States Volleyball Association) to become the first, and only, team in West Virginia. As the years past, the membership grew as new players from the Morgantown, and Pittsburgh areas moved to Charleston. During a couple of years, a women’s team, comprised of wives and friends, was also organized and competed. In 1988, the Club formed West Virginia’s first USAV Junior Olympic team.  The team was comprised of a 16 & under and 18 & under squad. In 2002, the Charleston VBC once again reached out to share its knowledge and experience of volleyball with the youth of Charleston.  Since then, 70 former members have received scholarships to play collegiate volleyball.

At the start of the 2016-2017 season, Charleston VBC changed its name to The Appalachian Volleyball Academy.  It also welcomed Jenna Brown, Head Coach of the University of Charleston's Women's Volleyball program, as the new Director of Training and Development. These two events ushered in a new chapter in the club's long history that reiterates the philosophy of performance improvement through a well-defined and coordinated training program.


The USA Volleyball (USAV) is the National Governing Body (NGB) for the sport of volleyball in the United States. Consistent with the Amateur Sports Act of 1978 and the Constitution of the United States Olympic Committee (USOC), USAV is recognized as an Olympic and Pan American Sports Organization by the USOC. It is also the recognized national federation to the Federation International de Volleyball (FIVB). The USAV maintains liaisons with the NAIA, NCAA, the NJCAA, and the YMCA.  The USAV is divided geographically into 41 regions covering 4 zones. We are in the Ohio Valley Region, which is comprised of Ohio, West Virginia, and Western Pennsylvania, and is the largest in the country with 22,557 members.  


The Amateur Athletic Union (AAU) is one of the largest, non-profit, volunteer, sports organizations in the United States. A multi-sport organization, the AAU is dedicated exclusively to the promotion and development of amateur sports and physical fitness programs.
The AAU was founded in 1888 to establish standards and uniformity in amateur sport. During its early years the AAU served as a leader in international sport representing the U.S. in the international sports federations. The AAU worked closely with the Olympic movement to prepare athletes for the Olympic Games. After the Amateur Sports Act of 1978, the AAU has focused its efforts into providing sports programs for all participants of all ages beginning at the grass roots level. The philosophy of "Sports for All, Forever" is shared by nearly 500,000 participants, and over 50,000 volunteers. The AAU is divided into 57 distinct Associations. These Associations annually sanction more than 34 sports programs, 250 national championships, and over 10,000 local events.


Lauren Bethel - Concord
Isabel Haverty - Berea College (KY)
Savannah Hoffman West Virginia Wesleyan
Kirsty Lawrence - West Virginia Wesleyan

Brooke Heck - Concord
Allie Humphreys - WVU Tech
Kassidy Lemons - Marshall
Megan Mourier - University of Charleston
Bailie Payne - University of Charleston
Marisa Russell - Ohio Valley University
Mackensie Smith - Ohio Valley University
Bailey Ulmer - University of Charleston

Sarah Ferguson - West Virginia State University
Paige Lucas - Fairmont State
Jessica Sayre - Marshall
Tori Strong - West Virginia State University

Meredith Lauerman - University of Charleston
Alexis Mourier - Davis & Elkins / UNC - Greensboro
Miranda Reedy - Alderson-Broaddus
Hannah Shreve - West Virginia University
Jordan Wittekind - University of Charleston

Sarah Bailey - Marshall
Bailey D'Antoni - Marshall
McKenzie Milam - University of Charleston
Rachel Morris - Glenville State
MacKensie Polan - Xavier (Club Team)
Kaci Sullivan - Glenville State

Amber Boggess - WVU Tech
Chelsey Chinuntdet - West Virginia University (Club Team)
Haley Pauley - WVU Tech
Nicole Sadecky - West Liberty
Casey Voltin - WVU Tech

Nicole Atkinson - Concord
Brittani Brooks - University of Charleston
Alexis Kessell - Marshall
Rebecca Lovejoy - Concord
Allie Pennington - Concord

Katie Avery - West Virginia State University
Stormi Carder - Carlow College
Bailey Gillespie - Concord
Jessyca Gooch - West Virginia State University
Annie Hodge - Alderson-Broaddus
Megan Lucas - West Virginia State University
Makia Mogielski - WV Wesleyan
Bailey Ruddle - West Virginia State University
Lauren Toler - University of Charleston

Sarah Bowlin - West Virginia State University
Meredith O'Malley - Marshall
Brittani Tallhamer - Fairmont State
Susan Waldie - Marshall
Kylie Whitney - WVU Tech

Sarah Bowen - West Virginia State University
Rachel Menders - Alderson-Broaddus
Amber Miller - Concord
Margaret Osborne - West Virginia State University
Emily Wilson - Concord

Emily Bowlin - West Virginia State University
Laura Buckalew - University of Charleston
Lindsay Sankoff - Sweetbriar / University of Charleston
Lauren Warwick - North Carolina (Club Team)
Casey Whittman - Ohio Valley University

Rebecca Martin - Sweetbriar
Aana Wherry - Duke

Shelly Capito - Duke
Haley Dennison - ??
Blair Ruddle - West Virginia State University

Keri Blank - Fairmont State
Erica Hall - Mountain State
Dava Kaltenecker - West Virginia State University
Tammy Svitek - ??